Updating slicers & bi-directional relationships

Hi all,

I’m very new here so I’m sorry if this question has been raised and answered before.

I’ve been using Power Bi professionally for maybe 6 months. In my role in my organisation, we typically need a lot of slicers at the top of the page to enable our end users to drill down to their specific data. These slicers are always built from Look-up tables but slicers often come from different (unrelated) look-up tables.

Personally, I like to see a slicer update to only show the possible values after selecting an option from a different slicers. For example, if I select Export from one slicer, I should only see countries which we export to in a different slicer and not all countries in the model.

The only way I have been able to achieve this is by changing Cross Filter Direction to Both for the relationships for Countries to Fact and for SaleType to Fact. Basically, to make the model work the way I want it to, I could end up with many relationships being filtered in both directions.

For the most part, this seems to work effectively enough but having listened to Sam on one of the courses, I’m pretty sure this is not best practice. Sam says that he hardly ever uses bi-directional relationships so I’m wondering what is the work around in my scenario.

I realise that my above example may not be the clearest so I’ll give one relating specifically to my work context.

Fact table - results of students in various exams
Look-up 1 - Various schools in the organisation (possibly 10 options)
Look-up 2 - Various types of exams (possibly 10 options)

Scenario - I click a school name in a slicer but not all schools take all the various exams. I want the Exams Slicer to only display the exams relating to the school I just selected, and vice-versa.

Question - Is bi-directional relationships the only way to achieve this and if so, what issues am I going to run into as a result?