Map Issues with Locations

Hello there,

I'm very new to Power BI and having some issues with the data locations being shown outside the intended countries of the data. I tried various techniques but still the data is being wrongly pointed outside the actual location. 
               Please look into the issue and help me out with a correct solution

Thanks
Naresh.

Power BI - Map Issue.xlsx (984.6 KB)

Have you seen this video?
It might explain some of this things you’re experiencing, start around the 10min mark.

Hi Melissa,

I have used lot of Online help videos like this. But still even after applying those suggestions my issue persists. Can I get any assisted help of my issue please.

Thanks

Hi,

You have a few issues with your dataset,
lat and lon need to be in decimal number format, so with a comma and without N or W.
I mapped the 1038 addresses, (not the latitude/longitude) in a GIS application and some 800 were found and mapped in the US, see map.
However, using the latitude longitude in your data I got them spread out across Europe, so it seems you have a geocoding issue.
How did you get the latlons? Once corrected remember, in Power BI Desktop to change the data category to lat lon respectively

Paul

2 Likes

Hi Paul,

image image

The Lat and Long are correctly marked in Power BI Desktop.
The Lat , Long are in decimal format. The lat, long are coming from the data base recorded as per the store locations, which I have checked online and it exactly matches .

When you say Geocoding issue? What do you mean by that and what needs to be done to address them. As I’m fairly new to Power BI, I’m learning things to understand and make it correct.

Any suggestions in the right direction is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi

Please respond in the appropriate window, currently you are sometimes typing text in a preformatted text window.

With the addition of N or W they cannot be in decimal format.