Help Needed in Power BI

Hi All,
I am very new to power Bi so looking for some help here
Q. I need to find patient visit volume analysis (visit count by volume distribution by year)
i have the below fields like this

Patient ID Appointment Date Appointment Created Date
90745 27-Jun-05 18-Dec-12
93396 27-Jun-05 18-Dec-12
93396 27-Jun-05 18-Dec-12
79099 27-Jun-05 18-Dec-12

Looking for some help here

Regards
Nag

Hi @Nagi_k.

To help us further visualize your issue, could you please provide as many as you can of:

• Your work-in-progress PBIX file, using sanitized data if necessary
  • Your dataset as an Excel file (again, sanitized if necessary)
  • A detailed mock-up (marked-up screenshot or Excel file) of your desired outcome.

Greg

1 Like

Hi @Nagi_k

I think you should do a modelling effort before we go further ā€¦ there are over 1 million rows in your [Medico] table and there is much repeating data. Your main fact table should have one row per event (visit?), and I imagine after you extract all the patient-specific info into its own [Patients] table things will look much better. Also, it seems that there are multiple records per event: for example, although I guess ā€œChart Numberā€ and ā€œPatient IDā€ are both meant to refer to a specific patient, for ā€œChart Numberā€ = 2099 and Patient ID = 87663 there are 15 records, while my first try at putting this patient into a table and counting her/his visits gave 3 visitsā€¦

There are also many records where the visit appointment date is about 7 years before the appointment created date (I stopped counting at over 8000 with appointments in 2005 and creation dates in 2012).

So, Iā€™d recommend a new model before proceeding. The initial tables I can see are:

• [Dates] - with 1 record per date (youā€™ve already got this)
  • [Patients] - extract and remove as much information from the [Medico] table as you can, with 1 record per patient
  • [Visits] - renamed [Medico] table, with 1 record per visit