Count Orders by Latest Order Status

Hi All,

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, I am fairly new to Power BI, therefore, my DAX skills are limited at the mo, this is the first time I’m posting in this forum too.

What I am looking to achieve is the ability to find out how many orders we had at any given time by order status. The issue I’m currently faced with is that within our data warehouse we have an order status history table which timestamps every order as it goes through the different status. Meaning one order can have one than one row. Therefore i need to create a measure which only counts the latest order status.

My Relationships:

Order Status History Table:

statusOrder column: the highest number is the latest status

If any further information is required please let me know.

Many thanks in advance for any help provided.

Connor

@connortapp
Can you upload some sample data and a mock-up of what your ideal solution would show?

Thanks

Enterprise%20DNA%20Expert%20-%20Small

Ok yes I demo model would help here for a quicker solution, but…

I can already see many things you need to fix straight away. This calculation is actually not difficult at all if you have the right setup in your model.

Here’s the most important course to go through early on for you I believe.

First you should look to merge you dimOrders table with you factOrders table. There’s no need for both of these.

Then you can simply have a one to many relationship from your date table to your Orders table.

Also the Date table should be connected to your Order history table with an active relationship. An inactive one serves no purpose here. You could also merge those two tables (Order Statuses and Order Status History) to simplify things even further.

Always look to simplify in the the data model. This is what I always do myself.

Next one, don’t have a date and time column. You need to change this to just a date, so that is can link up to your date table (date column).