Find Date Of Last Result And Then Difference In A Data Table - Power BI

Hi, I am just getting started with DAX and have a question as to how I would group my results.

Sample Table:

I need to be able to calculate the average number of days between inspections completed for each fleet number

Can anyone offer any assistance as to how I would go about this so that I would end up with something along the lines of:

Fleet Number Average Days Between Inspections Completed
6002 33
6003 63

Regards
Mark.

1 Like

Hi
Most of the work can/should be done in the query editor. Duplicate your datecolumns assuming you wish to keep these, change type (of the duplicated columns) into whole number, now you can subtract the date columns. Then group by Fleetnumber and apply the required aggregation.

Paul

Enterprise%20DNA%20Expert%20-%20Small

Hi Mark,

Yes Paul is right, that’s how you would do it.

Then all you would need to use with DAX once you have the difference in days within a column is use the AVERAGE function.

Should be as simple as that.

Let us know how you go.

Chrs

Hi,
I might be wrong but Mark may be looking for the Average Completion Days for each fleet by calculating the difference of days between preceding rows, equivalent to using LAG in TSQL. I couldn’t come up with an easy answer for that than this. Perhaps, Sam will come up with a smatter option.

Avg Completion Days =
AVERAGEX (
    ADDCOLUMNS (
        Sheet1,
        "DiffBetweenCompetionDates", DATEDIFF (
            CALCULATE (
                MAX ( Sheet1[InspectionCompleted] ),
                FILTER (
                    Sheet1,
                    Sheet1[InspectionCompleted] < EARLIER ( Sheet1[InspectionCompleted], 1 )
                        && Sheet1[FleetNumber] = EARLIER ( Sheet1[FleetNumber], 1 )
                )
            ),
            Sheet1[InspectionCompleted],
            DAY
        )
    ),
    [DiffBetweenCompetionDates]
)

Hi,