Balance Sheet Table Template

Hello all of you
I’ve watched this video from Sam :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmf4_zXCXbs&ab_channel=EnterpriseDNA
and it’s a great technique. I’ve used it to do my P&L.
I’m not an expert of accounting but i’m trying to do the balance sheet and as far as i know, here in my country at least, the items from Assets are the DEBIT values and from Liabilities are CREDIT values.

My question is : since i have only one measure at the bottom of this long measure, that calculates the debits, how could i add another measure that could calculate the credits but only for the Liability section?
Thank you all of you guys
Pedro

Hello @pedroccamara,

Thank You for posting your query onto the Forum.

Just to confirm, in all the countries Assets are considered as "Debit values and Liabilities are considered as Credit values.

Well if you follow the @sam.mckay’s video carefully. He has calculated the sub-totals for each sub-category i.e. Current Assets, Fixed Assets, Other Assets, Current Liabilities, Long - Term Liabilities, etc. and then all those measures has been consolidated under the one single master measure wherein the last two line items of the measure will bring the values for each individual line items.

Now, to get you started with the working of the Balance Sheet I’ll be attaching the working of my PBIX file for the reference. Can you also attach the working of your PBIX file as well so that the we could assist you in a better way?

If you need anything just give a shout.

Hoping you find this useful. :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks and Warm Regards,
Harsh

Income Statement and Balance Sheet - Harsh.pbix (859.9 KB)

Hi @pedroccamara

Generally, the filter table, i.e. Chart of Accounts will have the following columns,

• GL (General Ledger) ID / #
  • GL Description
  • GL Group Level 1 – in its simplistic form, this could be Balance Sheet or Income Statement, that is, a GL ID is either one of these