Using UNICHAR Codes

HI All

I am new to Power BI and am trying to use the Up and Down coloured arrows as indicators along with some calculations. I have written the following DAX statement and I have checked each condition individually and there are no errors.

Arrows = SWITCH(
TRUE(),
[No of Audits CY] >= [No of Audits LY], UNICHAR(9650),
[No of Audits CY] <= [No of Audits LY], UNICHAR(9660),
UNICHAR(9640)
)

The two elements in the SWITCH statement are measures as well rather than fields from a table.

The issue here is that when I try to show the output “Arrow” I seem not to see what I expected (i.e. an arrow pointing up or down). I have used a Card, a Table and I have even tried formatting as a String (yeah I know) but I just cannot get the Arrow showing up. In fact, when I add the measure to a visual, it reverts to “First Arrow” - it seems to be thinking that there are more than one of these but there should just be a singular value. The two comparative measures also have singular values.

What am I missing, ignoring or doing incorrectly that the arrow symbols do not show?

PS - I even tried using other UNICODE values and the same issue occurs. Any help will be highly appreciated

Thanking you in advance

Prem

@prembij Welcome to the Enterprise DNA and thanks for posting the question on the forum. To get a solution, it is requested to please share your sample PBIX file for the experts & members to look at.

Thanks.

@prembij,

Your use of UNICHAR is spot on. I built a small sample model using the exact same SWITCH(TRUE()) UNCHAR code and it works like a champ:

The problem lies elsewhere within your model/measures. If you can post your PBIX file, I’m sure we can get it sorted out quickly.

I hope this is helpful. My solution file attached.

2 Likes

Hi Brian / Mudassir