TIP: Upgrading to a Power BI Pro paid license after the 60-day free trial

Hi All.

I had quite an experience the past two days trying (and eventually succeeding) to upgrade my Power BI Pro license from the free 60-day trial to the paid version; I commiserated a bit with some other eDNA members, and we thought a post might not be a bad idea.

So I’ve been using Power BI for a few years now, always with the free license. In early September I decided it was time for me to upgrade to a Power BI Pro license, and when I explored a bit was presented with the offer of the free 60-day trial or Power BI Pro, which I took advantage of and used happily until yesterday, when my trial ended and I was locked-out until I upgraded; here’s where my “adventure” begins.

TL;DR version

Being an independent consultant, I’m “the guy” for everything and have only ever needed one email address, but while the Power BI Pro free trial was OK with that, I had to add a “new” user to my Microsoft 365, use that email to buy Pro, then use it again to assign the Pro license to my main account

Verbose version

I first went to the service at https://app.powerbi.com/home?noSignUpCheck=1, then selected “Admin portal” from the Settings menu.

Next, I went to the “Users” section in the admin portal and was asked to go to the Microsoft 365 Admin Center.

Then, I went to add a payment method in the Microsoft 365 Admin Center, entered my correct address, and was presented with the error “Check your address. There appears to be an error in it.”

Although I knew I had entered my address correctly the first time, I nevertheless tried again repeatedly, always getting the same error; this went on for about 2 hours and I finally gave up and went to bed.