Power BI report sharing w/o Pro or Premium Capacity

Hello-
Is it possible to share a Power BI report to a large audience who do not have pro licenses without using premium capacity? Is there any way around this?

i.e. SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, etc.?

Or is it possible to share a .pbix with the large audience and hide the underlying data and what not?

Thank you

@dttrombino,

If the information in the report isn’t sensitive, you can do this via the Publish to Web feature.

• Brian

@BrianJ is absolutely right in reconmending caution here.

GuyInACube also released this video recently, that might be worth checking out… What you NEED to know about Publish to Web in Power BI

@dttrombino,

@Melissa’s message made me realize I probably didn’t emphasize this sufficiently, but once you employ this option, the information you make available is “out in the wild” for anyone to see. Since I work in the public sector, much of our data is freely available anyway, so this often isn’t a big deal as long as there is no personally identifiable information in the report. However, in the private sector there are probably far fewer appropriate applications of publish to web. But for those times when it is appropriate, it works great.

• Brian
1 Like

Hi @dttrombino

If you’re just looking to share the report then best thing is to share it through subscription and that is only possible to be shared with people who have license.

If you want to share it with multiple people, i would recommend you to have a generic email group and add people to that alias and get license for that email group.

And to answer your other point regarding hiding underlying data, you can turn that off under options and settings, go to options then under Current File select report settings and there under “Export Data” you’ll see 2 options :

Default option allows user just to download the data that they’re viewing on their screen.