Power BI Challenge 14 - Emergency Services Analytics from John

Here’s John’s entry for Power BI Challenge 14. @JohnG, would you like to share how you built this dashboard and what your inspiration is in building it?

To learn about the real-life scenario presented for the challenge, be sure to click on the image below.

power-bi-chal-1

Hello Brian;

I’d love to share my thoughts related to Challenge 14. Before doing so, please appreciate that the grammar and punctuation in this message may be awkward. I’ve lost the use of my SHIFT key, for the time being.

1. This has been my first challenge. I enjoyed it very much. I’n eager to review and analyze the submissions of other participants.

2. I’ve been a Power BI student for about six months now. In one of the first Edna tutorials I viewed, Sam McKay presented his Four Pillars of Power BI. Based upon my background, and the fact that I don’t have an artistic fibre in my body, I’ve devoted most of my energy to date to Data Import and Transformation, Modelling and DAX formulas. I’ve written hundreds of reports over the years using COBOL, SQL and Crystal Reports. I guess we’re all captives of our experience, and mine has been that data carries the day. Certainly, I need to shift to the visual, thematic and navigation side of the house.

3. Regarding the report itself, I wanted the first page to present data that an executive could review. I wanted this page to present KPI’s at a high-level. As I analyzed the data in the Excel file, I thought that the key factors were the time required to complete each ‘node’ in the patient delivery chain. This is the data I wanted to present on the first page.