NOT IN with a list of values

Problem: We’re a trucking company. Driver turnover is a big issue in our industry. I’m doing some driver retention analytics. I’m trying to create a driver count measure but need to filter out terminations with specific reason codes as we do not count those in our turnover percentage.

Where I’m at: I used Sam’s videos on staff counting and staff turnover to get this far. I’m new at DAX so everything is by example then reverse engineering it to learn how it works. Mr. Googlepants has told me that in order to remove records with specific codes I need to use “NOT” and “IN”.

This is the permutation I stopped with and decided to just post here …

Driver Count = 
CALCULATE (
    COUNTROWS ( Drivers ),
    FILTER (
        VALUES ( 'Drivers'[Hire Date] ),
        'Drivers'[Hire Date] <= MAX ( Dates[Date] )
    ),
    FILTER (
        VALUES ( 'Drivers'[Termination Date] ),
        OR(
            Drivers[Termination Date] >= MIN ( Dates[Date] ),
            ISBLANK ('Drivers'[Termination Date] )
        )
    ),
    NOT 'Drivers'[Termination Code] IN {"LEFTOR","FAILIN","FAILRT","FAILWR","STLEFT","STFLRT","STFLIN","NEVER"}
)

I say this permutation because I’ve been through many using different sources and their examples. Yeah, I’m kinda stabbin in the dark hoping some version will work.

Could someone point me in the right direction?

An anonymized PBIX file is attached. The ‘EDNA Driver Count’ sheet is where I’m working. The measure is ‘Driver Count’
EDNA Driver Retention.pbix (332.2 KB)

Hello @qholmberg . I have used IN before. When I want to calculate something specific, use IN to single out specific work codes or in your case termination.

I think you would want to delete NOT. You are looking for driver count the are in these codes…correct?

@Paul.Gerber … I want the drivers with these term codes excluded from the count.