MYSQL database or SQL Server database

Guys, could you please help me on this?
First of all, i don’t know the difference between accessing data one way or the other. Second, i have an sql server name to access and as well as user name and password. I also have the name of the tables to access, although i would like to access them all.
Can anyone help me on this one?
Thanks in advance
Pedro

Hi Pedro. We’ll need a little more to go on to answer this. What exactly is your question? What do you mean by “one way or the other”? For SQL Server, for example, if the credentials you have give you access to the server and database and table within that database, then you can easily use them to get the tables inside of Power BI; I’m not experienced with MYSQL so can’t say anything about it. Greg

hello @ edroccamara -

for sql data base use the following link to conect

for sql anywhere you can use the following link. this is an old link but has a lot of info

It is important that you understand where the sql server is stored - on prem on azure or on cloud…
also a lot of difference between mysql and sql server.

once you have some more info, pls write back and can help yo then.

thank you

Hi @Greg
Thank you for trying to help me. My question is a simple one: when to use MySQL database and when to use SQL Server database. I have all the info i need to connect through PBI and i think i shold connect through SQL Server database but it’s not working. That’s why asked what’s the difference between them, to try to understand why can’t i connect

Hey @C9411010
I believe the data is store on a cloud. For sure is not on azure. But i don’t know if it’s on prem (don’t know what that means).
They gave me the number of the server adress, (192.168.X.XXX\primavera), a user name and a password.
I’ve tried both ways (MySql and SQL Server) and it didn’t work)
Capture13
Maybe the server is disconnected? I know it’s weird, but it happen to me in the past…