Model with 3 fact tables

Hi guys,

It is my first time I need to build a mode with 3 fact tables: sales, shipment and payment. All 3 table have Order IDs, invoices and shipment has their own ID. I spent 2 days trying but there always something wrong with filtering. I know that I need a star schema however I cannot build it in a proper way. I tried many options with some bridge tables etc but there is always something wrong. Can someone guide me, i guess this one of more typical scenarios.

1 Like

Hey,

If possible drop pbix.

Regards,
Pankaj

Hello,
Thank You in advance. I made a similar model with some less columns but the general idea is there. It is messed up I guess as i can’t filter matrixes with ID/Invoice number/ Shipment number. Always some relation is missing. I just can’t made a proper bridge tables, I guess. The best would be to have some kind of bridge table which have all these columns, but there are always duplicates in order IDs so it cannot filter in such way. I always get to some blind point. In theory 1 order number can have multiple invoices or shipment numbers.
test.pbix (184.7 KB)

Bumping this post for more visibility from our experts and users.

Hi @Marcin - What issue are you facing by keeping the Model simple and have one Order ID bridge table connected to others. If there is anything specific not able to achieve then let me know.

Check this PBIX.
test - Copy.pbix (186.1 KB)

Thanks
Ankit J

Hello @Marcin,

Did the responses above help solve your query?

If not, can you let us know where you’re stuck and what additional assistance you need?

If it did, please mark the answer as the SOLUTION by clicking the three dots beside Reply and then tick the check box beside SOLUTION

Thank you