Is it possible to create this type of form or template with Power BI

I am a bit new to Power BI and have used Excel and Power Query to create a dashboard that combines data from different data sources. The dashboard is in a free form format and uses a drop down list plus VLOOKUP to pull data for a specific entity when selected. It also has a free input cell for user to enter comments on the entity and print for reporting purposes.

My challenge is an additional requirement, to have a details table below it, that shows the details from any of the data source when it’s linked data is selected. Can such a form be designed in Power BI and how do I go about that or can I still use Excel to get the details table.

I have attached an image of the dashboard in Excel.

HI @Obi, while waiting for other members to jump in, have you checked our Report and Data Visualization Summit if this has been discussed in one of the videos?

Dashboard (enterprisedna.co)

Thanks, I have checked the Report and Visualization Summit as you suggested but could not find any related content. Could you point me to the specific content you were referring to>

@Obi

Good day,

To recreate the form layout in Power BI it no problem at all - the data is still gathered from the source and it will show in Power BI. Let me work an example out for you to see what I mean.

Regards,

Federico Pastor

1 Like

@Obi

I just prepared a draft idea for you, a bit more of formatting and deco and the form will look great. Dataset out of my head, sorry if any wrong. I added a couple of filters for you to explore possibilities. Please see files attached.

I hope this helps.

Federico Pastor

Test Data_Forum.pbix (73.4 KB)
Test Data.xlsx (19.2 KB)

1 Like

@Federico,

Thanks, this will help a lot. I will see how i can adapt the file for my purpose.

Obi

2 Likes