How to get Previous Measure Value using multiple fields for grouping and ordering

Hi Sam and Team -

I’m interested in expanding upon the concept to getting a Previous value with Time intelligence found here in a previous Enterprise DNA forum post Using variables to get previous values - DAX Calculations - Enterprise DNA Forum This works pretty well for me but the grouping and ordering needs to be based on more than one field and unfortunately I’m new to DAX. See image below where I concatenated the 3 fields into a calculated column called SM - That works fine for me. I’m needing to group by SUFFIX and rollup the RA Amount and the Premium Amount by Suffix, StepNumber and ModelName. RA Amount and Premium Amount are measures based on an Amount column. As you can see there are multiple measures and a ‘Last Amount’ for each measure. But if I add SUFFIX and/or StepNumber and/or ModelNumber to the table it breaks. This first one is filtered by SUFFIX = ‘CURRENT’

Ideally it should only pull last values from the current record SUFFIX value - this is the other thing I haven’t been able to do see screenshot below. I realize this is a bit different topic - I’ve been able to categorize the indexes but I’ve been unable to combine the concepts.

Any help would be greatly appreciated - I can work around the grouping by suffix by filtering but the first issue is most important. Thanks

1 Like

Hi @SMMCDONNELL, I noticed you didn’t provide a PBIX file. Providing one will help users and experts find a solution to your inquiry faster and better.

Check out this thread on Tools and Techniques for Providing PBIX Files with Your Forum Questions

Not completing your data may sometimes cause delay in getting an answer.

2 Likes

LastValueWithSuffixCategory_ForEntDNA.pbix (272.4 KB)