Help customize Deneb heatmap

I’m new to Deneb and haven’t been able to figure out how to color this heatmap so that it is colored by row, or category, rather than as a whole:

I want the rows to be color independently of one another, like this:

Help appreciated.

data.xlsx (16.7 KB)

Deneb heatmap.pbix (1.3 MB)

Hi @DougStanley.

What I think in effect you are asking for is small multiples with the colour scale applied to each small multiple independently. If so, here’s a version:

To do this, you’ll need to add a row block to the encoding block and a resolve block with scale-color-independent.

{
  "title": {
    "anchor": "start",
    "align": "left",
    "offset": 10,
    "text": "eDNA Forum - Deneb Heatmap Colouring by Row",
    "font": "Verdana",
    "fontSize": 20,
    "fontWeight": "bold",
    "fontStyle": "normal"
  },
  "data": {"name": "dataset"},
  "width": 800,
  "height": 45,
  "mark": {
    "type": "rect",
    "stroke": "white",
    "tooltip": true
  },
  "encoding": {
    "row": {
      "field": "Category",
      "header": {
        "labelAngle": 0,
        "labelPadding": -50,
        "title": null
      },
      "spacing": 0
    },
    "x": {
      "field": "Date",
      "type": "ordinal",
      "title": "",
      "timeUnit": "yearmonth",
      "axis": {
        "domain": false,
        "ticks": false,
        "labels": true,
        "labelAngle": -90,
        "orient": "top"
      }
    },
    "tooltip": [
      {
        "type": "nominal"
      },
      {
        "field": "Date",
        "type": "ordinal"
      },
      {
        "field": "Growth (MoYaM)",
        "type": "quantitative",
        "format": ".1%"
      },
      {
        "field": "Growth (WDC)",
      }
    ],
    "color": {
      "title": "Growth (WDC)",
      "scale": {
        "scheme": "pbiColorDivergent"
      },
      "legend": null
    }
  },
  "resolve": {
    "scale": {"color": "independent"}
  }
}