Financial Reporting with PBI

Hi All Forum Members!

This is my first time posting so apologies if I get it wrong!

I wanted to know if Enterprise DNA were going to cover how to create financial reports by connecting directly to source transactional systems like SAP etc. I want to know what level of efficiency clients can expect from these types of solutions and if they will have to create data dumps and then PBI will pull from these data dumps or can we be taught how to go directly to source?

Look forward to your replies and sharing your thoughts on this.

Thanks,
Nikesh

Hey Everyone,

Just a quick follow-on. If any of the forum members have also had experience of delivering a solution of a direct connection to the source systems - it would be great to understand your experiences and how you dealt with it.

Thanks in advance!
Nikesh

Hi Nikesh,

At the present time there is no plans for something specifically on SAP systems.

With our training I try to keep it slightly broader and general to fit the majority of members needs.

Also there is more a analytical focus on the front end of Power BI rather than the connections side of things. This may change though in the future as more and more content is produced.

I have seen SAP connected to though, but the tables directly from SAP are never in a good shape initially and a bit of work needs to be done in the query editor. But that’s ok, it can be done.

I think overall if you’re using Power BI you will see huge efficiency gain no matter where the data comes from. It’s the best tool out there by far at the moment when you look at the entire package.

Thanks
Sam

Hi @nikeshvalji,

I do Power BI reporting directly against source systems, including our accounting/ERP system. I use Power BI Report Server on-prem, so I am not dealing with data gateways, but other aspects will apply regardless.