Displaying Two Fields in One Column

Hello,

I’m attempting to do something in Power BI Desktop that I’ve been able to do in SSRS but I can’t seem to figure it out.

I work in the Aviation industry and so, for a given flight, I would like to have a column in my report table for crew. This column, per flight, would display the pilot’s name and the co-pilot’s name below that.

Presently, I can do this:
FlightNumber PilotName CoPilotName
ABC123 John Doe Fred Smith

What I’d like to do:
FlightNumber CrewMembers
ABC123 John Doe
Fred Smith

I’m either missing something basic in using Power BI Desktop or, perhaps, I need to be using Power BI Report Builder in order to accomplish this…

Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

@mschindelman,

I’m sure that there are a number of different ways in Power Query/Power BI to do this, but here’s the approach I took:

This is the sample data I brought in from Excel:

1. pulled this into Power Query, selected flight number and then “Unpivot Other Columns”
  2. renamed the second and third columns in the unpivoted data “Role” and “Name”
  3. created the following measure to concatenate the pilot and copilot for each flight with a hard return in between. UNICHAR(10) is the code for hard return.

Roster List =

CONCATENATEX(
        'Flight Roster',
        'Flight Roster'[Name],
        UNICHAR( 10 )
    )
  1. created a table visual, and just dropped the Flight Number field and the measure created above into the table Values wells.

Here’s what it looks like all pulled together.

Hope this is helpful. Original Excel data and full solution file attached below.

• Brian

Pilot Copilot.xlsx (8.4 KB)
eDNA Forum - Pilot CoPilot List Solution.pbix (24.3 KB)

1 Like

@BrianJ,