Directquery against PBI Dataset

Hi,

Power BI newbie here. I’ve created a PBI dataset and published it to the service. I have then created a new dashboard off of the PBI dataset. I have made changes to the original PBI dataset, even after refreshing the dataset in the service, when I open the dashboard using the dataset, it doesn’t reflect my changes.

If I reimport the dataset, then it does. However any new columns added are lost. Is there anyway to refresh the dataset without losing columns added and not having to re-add the dataset everytime. As this causes much rework.

Thanks for your help.

Bumping this post for more visibility from our experts and users.

@d.chek When you say you have made changes to original PBI dataset, what exactly did you do? re-publish PBIX or just changed model’s metadata using TE3 or ALM Toolkit?

I changed the PBI dataset, added a column. Then i republished the dataset and the change wasn’t reflected in my PBI dashboard that references the dataset.

I since have discovered that I’m using the PBI desktop from the Microsoft Download center, because I need to apply some ODAC settings for connecting to Oracle.

If I use the PBI Desktop from the Microsoft store then everything works as expected. However, I can’t use the Microsoft Store version to connect to Oracle. I really don’t want to have to use two versions. Then it won’t work if I ever need to combine data from Oracle and a non-oracle database.

Hope this helps.
Dan

@d.chek There shouldn’t be any difference, when you re-publish you destroy the existing instance of the dataset & report and re-create a new one, so if you can view the columns in PBI Desktop then it should be visible in PBI Service as well.

Extract model.bim from PBI Service and PBI Desktop using Tabular Editor and use any online JSON comparer to check if there is even any difference.