Dealing With Products That Have Changing Prices

Hi all,

First post for 2022, so you may all have a happy new year. Stay safe!

Our pricelist changes partially throughout the year either due to cost changes or because of promotion activities. I need to:

• Compare sales value for chosen date period vs same period last year (filtering by product) based on respective prices.
  • Calculate the sales value difference (by product) for selected dates (sales quantity for selected dates multiplied by the difference of current unit price minus the previous product sales prices).

Although I created an inactive connection between Sales table and Pricelist & Costing table -this is where the price per product is set- (CostHelper column), I cannot get to calculate the above.

I studied Sam’s video on Dealing With Products That Have Changing Prices but cannot get that working.
Could this be a modelling issue, or can this be solved with DAX?

TestES.pbix (37.6 MB)

1 Like

Hi @Thimios - PBIX file only contains Model with no visuals. It is not feasible to determine what are you trying and whats the exact issue.

Please share more details like fields being used, the exact issue etc with Screenshots for further help.

Thanks
Ankit J

1 Like

Hello @Thimios, it’s been a while since we got a response from you.

Just following up the information @ankit requested above so he can help you further.

Please be reminded that In case there won’t be any activity on it in the next few days, we’ll be tagging this post as Solved.

Hi @Thimios ,

Interesting questions, compare sales values with LY and analysis of sales differences.

Please receive hereby a solution, with the following steps:

1. Slight adjustment data model
  2. Sales, quantity and average price calculation by creating measures (see group “DS Measures”)
  3. Sales, quantity and average price calculation previous year with help of the “DateAdd”-function and measure branching