DaysOnHand calculation very slow

Hi,
I am new to PowerBI and watched a lot of videos to learn in the past couple of weeks. Currently I try to create a report to show the Days on Hand of Rawmaterial (Level2 of the BOM) based on a forecast of Finish Good.

My Scenario: I sell different burgers (=FinishGood). Each burger has one or two different sauces (=Sub1). Each sauce has different ingredients (Sub2). I need to see when I run out of my ingredients and how many days on hand for each sub2 is available.
If I do not have enough sub2 items available, I need to allocate the sub2 based on the needs from Marketing and therefore also calculate a % of how much can I produce for one type of sauce in a specific week.

My ideas is as follow:
I take the current stock level, any further planned arrivals of each sub2 item and the demand for each week to calculate a running total of my balance for each Sub2 Item per week. Then I look when this running total is negativ and calculate the days from current week to the date of the negative running total. If there is no negative value, so no issue in supply, I divide my running by the average weekly usage to still get a DOH value.

The formula is working. Took me a long time to work it out but I am really happy about it.

My issue now is the transfer the sample data to real data. Real data has several locations (plants), and forecast rows in fact table is around 200k rows.
In this scenario the speed is not good, sometimes aroud 30 secs. for refreshing the visuals. I run the Dax Studio Analysis and I can see that the Formula Engine is slow, but I do not know why.

Does anyone has an idea why it is so slow.

The main issues I found is the formula for measuer “Sub2 DOH” and “Sub2 vs. Demand % Based Stock this Week”.

Any help would be very nice.

thanks a lot
Klaus
Burger Forecast.pbix (106.3 KB)

1 Like

Bumping this post.

Hi,
I thought my problem would be easy for some experienced PI user, looks not really