Data Modelling relationship and courses needed

Prescribing Dashboard vers5.pbix (933.0 KB)
Hi All

I’m relatively new to Power BI and currently following a beginner course. So far, I’ve been able to keep up and replicate the exercises covered in the course. However, I’m encountering challenges with structuring my data model effectively. I have several fact tables and dimensions, but I’m not confident that they adhere to best practices in data modeling.

I’m looking for a course or resources that can help me improve my understanding of data modeling. While my current dashboards are functional, I anticipate needing to incorporate additional fact tables in the future. The PBIX file I’ve provided demonstrates my current layout. To simplify relationships, I’ve introduced a bridge table, as I found myself dealing with too many relationships, particularly with regional ICB for Practice Astro table.

My fact tables contain granular data for England, regions, and local entities. However, due to variations in population size and demographics, the total figures across these levels may not reconcile perfectly. For instance, the practice Astro involves a regional ICB relationship (South West Region). Although I’ve implemented a bridge between them, it doesn’t seem to filter the totals accurately unless I establish a relationship with the date dimension. Thereby is there a course that i can follow and get support with this type of issue

Hi @zohra.belabed ,

Hope you are enjoy learning and discovering PowerBI functionalities.

For data modelling - there are several Sam’s courses :

Power BI Super Users Workshop

( for introduction and start )

Data Transformations And Modeling

(more deeper then the first one)

1 Like

Recommendation is to have Facts and Lookup (share dimension) tables

When you use multi-fact table - you need to keep attention which lookup / share dimension you will use - recommendation : use from Lookup table and hide from facts that will not be confusing.