Challenge 4- Delivery App Data Entry from Chad

Here’s @ChadD entry for Power BI Challenge 4. @ChadD, would you like to share how you built this dashboard and what your inspiration is in building it?

To learn about the real-life scenario presented for the challenge, be sure to click on the image below.

power-bi-chal-1

Yes, sure, thank you.

My background is finance. My role has always been analyzing data and operations with a focus on continuous improvement. I have supported brand, commercial and sales teams, in service-, manufacturing-, and supply chain operations. I wanted to display what the issues are, where they are, and the impact on operations.

Data Model

1. Review, update, modify source Excel file “Challenge4.xlsx”
    a. Warehouses – no change
    b. Delivery – fixed text format of column (H) DateTime Arrived at store
    c. Stores – added a State Code column to Stores table.
  2. Download free Excel dataset and create a City Location Data table with long/lat. and zip code data. I chose a single zip code for any city with multiples.
    https://public.opendatasoft.com/explore/dataset/us-zip-code-latitude-and-longitude/export/
  3. E-T-L to PBI
    a. “Challenge4 CCD.xlsx” with above referenced changes, three tables, Stores, Warehouses, Delivery.
    b. “City Location Data.xlsx” - one table named City Location Data.
  4. Transformations
    a. Merge as New - Stores and City Location Data tables.
    b. New table named Stores and original renamed Stores Staging.
    c. Disable load on City Location Data and Stores Staging tables.
    d. Duplicated Deliveries table, edited down to Invoices and Match Type as an additional lookup table, but ran out of time to explore it.
    e. Create a Key Measures table and Measures Group in query editor.
    f. Add a Date table
    g. Add a theme.json using EDNA color fan generator.
    h. Add calculated column to Deliveries – time between arrival and departure at store.