Calendar for current month and future 11 months

Hi Brain Trust,
I am an amateur at Power BI and I am just starting on it. Basically, I am learning as I develop.

Q1
I have a requirement to build a report where it shows the current month and future 11 months. The report will always look at the current month and future months. There is no requirement to choose months or go to a past month.

Wonder how this can be achieved.

Q2
I have a category type which includes a whole lot of different types. For the dashboard, i need only two types, which i have chosen and restricted via a page filter. The category type has been added as a slicer. The two categories are “Cabin” and “Site”. I also want to have a category called “Combined” which is the addition of the two categories. I know that selecting both cabin and site will give the same answer but is it possible to have a new category type as well?

TIA.
Cheers

Current and future 11 months can be achieved with the addition of a month offset to your calendar table in M this would look something like:

InsertMonthOffset = Table.AddColumn(YourPreviousStepName, “MonthOffset”, each ((12 * Date.Year([Date])) + Date.Month([Date])) - ((12 * Date.Year(Date.From(DateTime.FixedLocalNow()))) + Date.Month(Date.From(DateTime.FixedLocalNow()))))

If you add this in the (Power Query) Advanced Editor don’t forget to change the YourPreviousStepName and add a comma at the end if this is not the last line in your code.

Then you can add a Report- or Page filter where [MonthOffset] =0 and [MonthOffset] <12

Hope this helps.
Melissa

Yes nice one Melissa,

You can solve it in the date table quite easily with a new column. You could also do this with a calculated column as well.

For question 2 (in future can we place different questions in different forum posts)