Balance Sheet - Comparison Prior Year

Hi all, first of all i’m a beginner user of power BI, i’m studing beginner course and now i’m following the webinar related the Financial Report.

Monthly, i prepare for CEO a financial report and i’m trying to convert my excel report into a Power Bi dashboard report.

I have a question related balance sheet, particularly it’s clear to obtain the actual value but i’m not able to compare the data with previous year, i explain better in my report i compare the current month with final data of previous year (for example oct 2020 compare with december 2019, nov 2020 with dec 2019, etc…), how i can solve that problem, it’s possible?

it’s clear in the income statement case, infact i’m able to compare oct 2020 with october 2019, etc… with daxformula samelastperiod, but i can’t solve the problem in balance sheet where i need to compare with the final data of previous year.

I need only some suggestion, at moment i’haven’t build my report but i’m trying to build the project in my mind.

thanks very much

Antonio

Hello @antonio81m,

Thank You for posting your query onto the Forum.

Well I sense that you want to analyze the current year data with the previous year where previous years data will be static inspite of selections made into the slicers pertaining to the months. That is, you want to compare current year or months data with the end month of the previous financial year.

Just couple of days back I provided the solution based on this sort of requirement. I’m providing a link below for the reference of the solution provided on that post from where you can also download the working of my PBIX files for the better understanding of the concept.

Also without looking at the data or working of your file it will be very much difficult for the forum members to judge and provide the results efficiently and in a better manner.

Hoping you find this useful and meets your requirements that you’ve been looking for. :slightly_smiling_face: