Append new data to the existing one instead of overwriting

Hello,

I am new to power bi and have question about the data refresh.
Is there any way that when Power Bi refresh the data, it appends to the existing data instead of overwriting?

I am trying to create a power bi report for inventory analysis. So, need to keep track of how much quantities of the items were available at a particular date/time.

Currently, the inventory table is getting the current data (how much quantity of an item is available right now.) and when it refreshes, it overwrites the existing data.

For example, if the user is looking at the report today, should also be able to see what we had in the inventory last week, or month etc…

Thank you very much in advance!

@gkhokher What is the source of your data? Are you refreshing it manually or on the service?

@datazoe , I am getting the data from database server. it will be an automatic scheduled refresh.

I’m not sure how to achieve this in Power BI itself. A couple workaround ideas though, but depends on how many lines/rows you inventory table has.

1. If you’re not going back too far in time then your DBA might be able to write something to snapshot the inventory data daily. Then you’d get say 30 tables for last 30 days which you could date stamp in power query and append the tables either in PQ or with a UNION Dax table. (bit clunky though and not much history)

2. SImilar to 1, you could bring the data to Excel daily with a query to the database. Then set a column up in worksheet for date downloaded and append each day onto another excel tab, using this as your data source for PBI.(but again does require manual intervention so maybe not ideal. Possibly your DBA could replicate this in the database).