Actuals vs Plan and Forecast

Hi,
I am new to Power BI but have been able to create a few reports - learning on my own (by making mistakes).

I have come across something I need help with.

I have watched almost all of the videos that cover actual vs budget topic. I am not able to resolve the issue that I’m having. I am not sure why.
So what I would like to have in PBI as a visual is following (made up numbers):

Actuals come in daily, Plan is by month (in an excel sheet).

I followed the videos (Actual vs Budget) and this is what I ended up with

Formulas used:
Plan Total = sum(‘Test Table for Goals 2’[Plan])
Days in Year = CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(‘Date’), ALLEXCEPT(‘Date’, ‘Date’[Year]))

I’m not sure why I’m not getting 365 days as I saw in one of the videos rather I’m getting 5114 days (I filtered Year 2021 only for the page). Also, I don’t see anything in Actual column when I add that to the report next to “Actual Date” column in the report.

How can I get to what I’m trying to accomplish:

1. Actuals Column: by month
  2. Plan Column: by month
  3. Forecast Column: by month
  4. Visual as shown

A note: actual numbers are count of column that has data in text format. Example: month of July actual numbers let’s say 500 is a count of total names in a column. I thought I just mention that it is not sales number (number format) rather it’s a count of text rows by month.

Thank you for helping.

@Akaur ,

I actually just conducted a session on this at last week’s Enterprise DNA Analytics Summit:

that covers your use case exactly. Give this a watch, and if you still have questions or problems then please post your PBIX work in progress, and I’ll be happy to work through a solution with you.

I hope this is helpful.

• Brian

@BrianJ