Access to Usage and Performance Metrics

Hello,

I was wondering if someone might have experience with this. I haven’t found a clean answer online with Microsoft or anywhere else, so I figured I would check with the community.
I don’t have a file to specifically upload or share, but I will give you the background for the question.

I am a BA Analyst and Power BI developer for a company. We recently went with PPU licensing and started the process of implementing the use of Power BI’s pipeline deployment.

I have admin access to both the dev and test workspaces. I do not have access to the prod workspace.

My manager wants me to do an analysis on the usage and performance metrics for the reports that are in the production workspaces.

I was reading that the prerequisites for running the usage metrics are:

• You need a Power BI Pro or Premium Per User (PPU) license to run and access the usage metrics data. (Which I do)
  • To access usage metrics for a particular dashboard or report, you must have edit access to that dashboard or report. (This is the problem area)
  • Your Power BI admin has to have enabled usage metrics for content creators. (I think this is under the admin portal under tenant settings)

As I noted a problem with the second prerequisite, the company doesn’t want me to have access to edit a production workspace, because they don’t want developers having access due to issues around audit and separation of duties. Us, as the Business Intelligence department are responsible for reporting up to management on Power BI usage, but we cannot create or customize these reports. On the other side, the team that handles the deployments doesn’t do any development, so to have them create and support the reports would contradict the policy.