Select first item from previous group

Hello all PowerBI geniuses, I am still studying the courses and sadly got another question.
I already have a solution to my problem, I was just wondering if there is a smarter way to do it.

I want to calculate cumulative total revenue per quarter for -1 year. The way I managed to calculate this was by using measure “Test1”. The problem is that I want to make measure “Test 2” work, how do I do it? Essentially, I want a formula that tells PowerBI to go -1 year and select the first available quarter with that of that year.

Revenu QC = Calculate every year`s cumulative total revenue

VAR SelectedYear = SELECTEDVALUE(‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year])

Return

CALCULATE([Revenue Q],
FILTER(ALLSELECTED(‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’),
‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year_Quarter]<=MAX(‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year_Quarter]) &&
‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year]=SelectedYear
)
)

Test 1 = Calculate the previous year`s cumulative total using an index column that is stored in the

VAR CurrentYear = SELECTEDVALUE(‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year])
VAR CurrentQuarter = SELECTEDVALUE(Dim_Calendar[#Quarter])
VAR Index = Selectedvalue(‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Index])

VAR CurrentRevenue = CALCULATE([Revenue Q],
‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year]=CurrentYear
)
)

VAR PreviousRevenue = CALCULATE([Revenue Q],
‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Index]<=Index-4 &&
‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year]=CurrentYear-1
)
)

Return
PreviousRevenue

Test 2 = Should calculate the same thing as a measure “Test1”, but this actually calculates previous year total revenue.

VAR CurrentYear = SELECTEDVALUE(‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year])

VAR CurrentRevenue = CALCULATE([Revenue Q],
‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year]=CurrentYear
)
)

VAR PreviousRevenue = CALCULATE([Revenue Q],
‘Dim_Calendar (Q)’[Year]=CurrentYear-1
)
)

Return

PreviousRevenue

Hi @Roboboboberts

To help us further analyze your current state and visualize your issue, could you please provide as many as you can of:

• Your work-in-progress PBIX file, using sanitized data if necessary